Blueberry Preserves

The husband and I went blueberry picking last weekend at Butler’s Orchard and hauled in a little over 12 lbs!

Fresh picked blueberries ~ Erins' DC Kitchen

So you know what that means? JAM! And more blueberry posts 🙂

Oddly enough, this is the first time I’ve made blueberry jam on my own versus just helping (loosely) my Mom make hers. (Thanks for peaking my interest in canning!)

Homemade Blueberry Jam~ Erin's DC Kitchen

So pretty isn’t it?

Homemade Blueberry Jam~ Erin's DC Kitchen

Right after I finished this batch, I had to turn around and leave for a business trip to Newport, RI and didn’t get to try any of it until this morning! It’s was so good, not overly sweet because I opted for a lower sugar recipe, and bursting with blueberry pieces.

Here is the recipe!

Erin’s Blueberry Jam

  • 5 cups crushed blueberries (it took around 9 cups of whole berries to get to 5 crushed)
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 4 cups sugar (up to 4 1/2 cups)
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 6 tablespoons Ball powder pectin (or 1 box pectin, 49 to 57 g)

Makes about 7 to 8 eight ounce (250 ml) jars

Prepare boiling water canner, jars and lids. In a very large pot combine the berries and lemon juice. Whisk in pectin until dissolved. Bring to a boil over high heat, stirring frequently. Add all the sugar and honey at once, then return to a full boil and cook for 1 minute. Remove from heat and skim off foam. Ladle into prepared jars and leave 1/4 inch headspace at the top. Place on lids and bands, boil in the canner for 10 minutes. Remove from water and let stand 24 hours, during which time the lids should vacuum seal.

Enjoy!

– Erin

Need a more comprehensive breakdown of how to make jams? Read my step-by-step, soup to nuts guide to strawberry jam.

16 thoughts on “Blueberry Preserves

  1. Envy at your fresh picked blueberries. You also don’t need that yucky pectin at all. Blueberry has enough pectin to set on its own even with less sugar. Eliminate that and you jam will taste so much better. The blog before last I blogged about no pectin, low sugar jam and even a no messy way to sterile the jars without water bath. If you are interested.

    • Thanks for letting me know, I’ll check out your post. The only thing I worry about without adding pectin is the runny consistency the jam can get, esp when at room temp. Maybe your recipe has eliminated that worry 🙂

      • I know what you mean! I tend to cook my jam a little too much because of that too. My friends love runny jams these days. A lot of artisan jam maker make more and more runny jams and it easier to do plus they get more volume that way.

        You can use temperature as a gauge too. 216-218 is a nice set but runny if you wait until it reach 220 then it’s set properly (turn the jar upside down and jam won’t flop or run down) but considered too hard these days. Because I use low sugar so I do both temperature and wrinkle test. Low sugar jam is hard to gauge but I’ve found the wrinkle test is the best method to test the setting point except that its so difficult to explain to people.

Tell me what you think! Leave a comment.

