Frosted Funfetti Cookie Bars

I just want to sit down and play a game of Pretty, Pretty Princess while I eat these delightful sugar cookie bars.

Frosted Funfetti Cookie Bars

Sparkles, sprinkles, purple frosting?!

Frosted Funfetti Cookie Bars

These are girly to the max, and I have Heather at Sugar Dish Me to thank for the idea.

I saw these on Heather’s blog and thought it sounded yummy so I made my own version. It’s the lazy, semi-homemade version. Buy a bag of pre-made sugar cookie mix, I used Betty Crocker, and prepare according to package instruction but dump in 2 tablespoons of colored sprinkles for the ‘funfetti’.

Frosted Funfetti Cookie Bars

Easy right? Now you can devote brain power to picking out frosting and sprinkle colors to decorate with. I went with pink, purple, and butterflies. πŸ™‚

Food Pics 347

I did make my own frosting, using some creme bouquet flavoring I won from a giveaway at Veronica’s Cornucopia. I don’t how to describe the flavor other than ‘party’. Go figure.

Frosted Funfetti Cookie Bars

  • 1 package sugar cookie mix (I used Betty Crocker)
  • 2 to 3 tbl sprinkles (for the dough) plus more for decorating
  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 1 egg

For the frosting:

  • 1 and 1/2 sticks butter, softened
  • 2 tsp creme bouquet (or vanilla)
  • 3 -4 cups powder sugar
  • food coloring of choice
  • splash of milk

Preheat oven to 350Β° ( or whatever is specified on your cookie package).Β  Dump the mix into a large bowl, add in butter and the egg (or whatever is specified on your cookie package) and mix well. Add in sprinkles and mix just until distributed through the dough. Grease a 9×13 pan and gently press the dough into the pan all the way to the edges. Bake for 15 minutes, and then check for doneness. The edges will be golden and the center slightly soft by mostly set. Remove from oven and let cool on wire rack.

For the frosting: With an electric mixer, beat the butter until creamy and slowly add in your sugar. Continue to mix until combined. Add in flavoring and mix some more. Add a splash of milk if the consistency is too thick. Taste it, and when you are satisfied, add in the food coloring. Mix well, then spread onto cooled cookie bars. Top with more sprinkles and other fun stuff.

– Enjoy!

Erin

5 thoughts on “Frosted Funfetti Cookie Bars

Tell me what you think! Leave a comment.

