Christmas Holly

Oh, by gosh, by golly, it’s time for mistletoe and holly. Thanks for the intro Frank, these treats deserve it. 🙂

Christmas Holly

Sticky, gooey, marshmallowy Christmas holly. Nom nom nom.

Christmas Holly

This recipe is first up on my list of oldie-but-goodie family recipes that I break out every Christmas. These treats are really easy to make- one pot on the stovetop is all it takes!

Don’t these add a lovely pop of color to Santa’s Christmas Eve cookie plate? He’s coming soon, stop reading this and go get in the kitchen!! 😉

Cookies for Santa

Red decorators frosting made the ‘berries’ on this holly treat, but you can go with Red Hot cinnamon candies if you wish.

Christmas Holly

  • 1 stick (1/4 lb) butter
  • several tablespoons green food coloring*
  • 35 large marshmallows (standard package)
  • 4 cups cornflakes
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • red frosting or red cinnamon candies

In a large pot, melt butter and marshmallows together, stirring often. Once smooth, add in vanilla and food coloring, stir. Dump in the cornflakes 2 cups at a time and mix well to coat. Drop by the tablespoon full onto greased, wax paper. Dot the holly with red candies while hot, or, wait until cooled and dot with red frosting to make berries.

Enjoy!

– Erin

*Note: You will need to use A LOT of food coloring, it almost seems like an unholy amount. But if you want a nice, deep green, don’t hold back!

10 thoughts on “Christmas Holly

  1. Oh yay I LOVE Christmas holly!! I haven’t had them in like a million years, thank you so much for the recipe. I’m definitely in the red-hot camp as far as the holly goes, btw 🙂

  2. My grandmother used to make these! She would use the red cinnamon candy as the berries. They were cute, but were never my favorite to eat. I think if I ever get around to making them, I might try red M&M’s. (Of course I’d have to make the treats larger to compensate for the size, which I’m okay with) 😉

  3. Pingback: Pecan Chews with Small Batch Bourbon | Erin's DC Kitchen

Tell me what you think! Leave a comment.

