Rosemary and Pink Salt Sweet Potato Fries

My husband came up with the idea of doing brown sugar sweet potato fries. This sounded awesome, and it was even awesomer that he was thinking about dinner.

I wanted a savory variety to pair with the sweet fries, so I sprinkled dried rosemary and Trader Joe’s Pink Himalayan Salt onto some of the potato wedges. Yummy, when the fries bake in the oven the rosemary becomes so fragrant and delightful!

Brown sugar fries on the plate, rosemary and pink salt fries in the paper

This was a fun way to eat one of the season’s most plentiful root vegetable. Since these were cooked in the oven and not fried, I feel like they are a healthier way to eat fries so you don’t have to feel guilty about them.

So which flavor was the best? Honestly, the few fries that got a mix of both the  brown sugar and rosemary were by far the best! Hum, so what does that tell you; two heads are better than one? 🙂

Brown Sugar or Rosemary and Pink Salt Sweet Potato Fries

  • 2 very large sweet potatoes or yams
  • 3 tbl brown sugar, to taste
  • 1 tbl dried rosemary, to taste
  • coarse salt, such as Pink Himalayan
  • olive oil

Preheat oven to 425°. Line two baking sheets with tinfoil. Peel the potatoes and slice into wedges, about 1/2 inch wide (not to thick or they won’t cook evenly).  Spread the fries in a single layer on both baking sheets. Do no pile them onto each other or they won’t crisp up properly.

Drizzle the potatoes generously with olive oil and toss to coat. Then sprinkle salt over the potatoes, toss to coat. Sprinkle the rosemary over one tray of potatoes and sprinkle the brown sugar over the other tray (or combine!). Toss to coat. Bake for 20 minutes, remove from the oven and flip all fries. This ensures the fries can get crispy on both sides. Bake for another 15 to 25 minutes, until the potatoes are cooked through.

Enjoy!

– Erin

6 thoughts on “Rosemary and Pink Salt Sweet Potato Fries

  1. Wanna know something funny? I’ve been hanging onto photos of sweet potato fries to post; I’m holding off because I feel like I just posted sweet potatoes in something else or I just did hasselback potatoes the other day. I am jealous of your pink salt. These look great!! I’ve also learned that roasting them on parchment paper crisps them more but they don’t get as dark around the edges (mine are usually half burned looking if I use foil or throw ’em right on the baking sheet, and I eat them anyway).

    • Very good tip about the parchment paper, I will try that. They can def get burnt on foil if you don’t stir enough. Sometimes I think posting similar recipes back to back is ok because people may have leftovers of the key ingrediant they want to use up. I’m working on a sweet potato cupcake post for tomorrow- I’m telling myself it’s ok!!

    • Bummer! Kitchen disasters happen, but don’t let it intimidate you. Another reader commented that cooking the fries on parchment paper rather than foil cut down on burning. Also stirring the fries often can help. Good luck!

Tell me what you think! Leave a comment.

