Apple Cider Cake

Fall and hot apple cider go together like chocolate and peanut butter, so how about hot apple cider cake! Yes please.

I went to go visit my sister in law this past weekend in Charlottesville and brought her and her husband some of this cake. My father in law snuck a piece before we got there and happily proclaimed “It’s so appley!”  I doctored a spice cake mix with my homemade chunky applesauce and cinnamon apple butter in place of oil.

My whole apartment  smelled heavenly while this baked :-). Right after you pull the cake out of the oven, you pour a glaze of apple cider and brown sugar on top. This makes it so moist, I almost want to call this a spoon cake!

Moist, delicious, and oh so appley.

What else is there to say? You’ve got to try it!

Apple Cider Cake

  • 1 box spice cake mix
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 3/4 cup chunky applesauce
  • 1/2 cup apple butter
  • 1/2 cup apple cider
  • 1 tbl brown sugar

Preheat the oven to 350°. Grease a 9×13 pan and lightly flour the bottom.  In a large bowl, combine the cake mix, eggs, applesauce and apple butter and beat on medium speed with an electric mixer for 2 minutes. Pour batter into the greased pan and bake for 32-35 minutes. Remove from oven and evenly pour the hot apple cider glaze over the cake.

For the glaze: While the cake bakes, mix the apple cider and brown sugar in a small saucepan and stir until sugar is dissolved.  Heat through and keep warm until ready to use.

Enjoy!

– Erin

Question of the Day: Do you have a favorite way to doctor cake mix?

11 thoughts on “Apple Cider Cake

  1. This looks wonderful! I love dense cakes, especially in the fall and winter.
    I use a yellow cake mix to make gooey butter cookies. The cookies are way better than the plain ‘ole cake could ever be!

  2. Oh this excites me! I have two spice cake mixes (I’m a total fan of cake mixes & have no shame in using them) and was going to use them for pumpkin cupcakes for a bake sale at work but I’ve already made those once for the sale and this would be so nice to try instead! And I have some of my own homeade chunky applesauce and was planning on making more…I have the apple cider too–clearly this was just meant to be. Thanks Erin!

      • Forgot to tell you I made it! Well, I did make some changes b/c I didn’t have apple butter. I wish I had b/c the apple flavor wasn’t there at all without it. Next time, apple butter all the way! It was still good, but no apple flavor, just a moist spice cake.

      • Oh no! No apple flavor! Did you use applesauce? The apple butter does make a difference really, it is cooked down concentrated apple. I’m sorry this didn’t work for you 😦

      • It wasn’t your recipes fault, it was mine for not following it-ha! Yes I did use applesauce–I used 1 3/4 cups and then some oil and apple cider in the cake as well as on top. It was delish but I was hoping for apple flavor. That’s what I get! I sold it at a bake sale and it went fast so everyone still loved it!

  3. This sounds yummy and wonderful, as do all of your recipes! I’ll be coming back-slash-stalking your site for foodie faves. Keep it up!

  4. Pingback: Homemade Applesauce « Erin's DC Kitchen

  5. Pingback: Fall Round-up: 5 Tastes of the Season (Cinnamon Ice Cream, anyone?) | Erin's DC Kitchen

Tell me what you think! Leave a comment.

