A Healthy Answer to A Fat Problem

Lately I’ve been feeling a lot like Tommy Boy singing ‘fat guy in a little coat’- but my tune has been more along the line of ”fat girl in tiny pants’.

My pant’s feel that coat’s pain

Why does this always happen to me, I whine wonder? Everything is fine and then bam, one day my pants don’t fit.

It’s no secret I love food so this should be self explanatory. I go to the gym whenever I’m in the office, but unfortunately I haven’t been in the office regularly since July.

Does that mean I can’t eat like I usually do?! (I have shockingly great analytical skills, don’t I?)

This red wine and balsamic vinegar reduction is a healthy answer to my fat problem. It goes well on anything, I drizzled it over figs and a pan-seared chicken breast.

Red Wine, Honey and Balsamic Reduction

  • 3/4 cup red wine
  • 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
  • generous 1/4 cup honey (probably almost 1/3)

In a small saucepan combine the three ingredients. Bring to a roiling boil, stirring frequently (it can boil over on you if you don’t watch it!). Cook for about 20 minutes or until mixture has been reduced by over half. It will start to thicken as well.

To test it: dip a wooden spoon into the mixture, pull it out and run a finger along the back of the spoon- the sauce will not run into the area where you ran your finger if it has thickend up.

Set aside in a container for easy pouring (I used a gravy boat) and let cool.  Drizzle away and enjoy!

– Erin

Question of the Day: What do you do when ‘the bulge’ sneaks up on you?

3 thoughts on “A Healthy Answer to A Fat Problem

  1. Yes, I’ve been singing that song myself, lately. I’ve been counting calories (but not obsessing over them), I got a pedometer, and I’ve started running. I wish the fat would just melt off like it used to (*sigh* to be 18 again) but since it doesn’t, I’m forced to work out. Thanks for the recipe to help our pants fit again!

  2. Most easy organic cures involve easy adjustments.
    At times even as straightforward as altering your sleep position
    by sleeping in your side can cease the tongue from
    falling back inside the throat, reducing the obstructions inside
    the air flow that will result in snoring. Even a brand new mattress or pillow
    might help how your body is positioned, to create
    easier breathing.

Tell me what you think! Leave a comment.

