Sweet and Spicy Shrimp Skewers

Hi readers!

I have a confession. I’ve been a bad blogger friend. Jess, over at A Lot on Your Plate, was kind enough to give me the One Lovely Blog Award… about three weeks ago and I still haven’t done anything about it!

But I will procrastinate no longer, I want my week to get off to a good start. So officially, here is a BIG THANK YOU to Jess for sharing the love with me!

Part of the One Lovely Blog award entails passing it to another blogger- I choose Putney Farm, a truly lovely food and garden blog- and sharing 7 things about yourself people probably don’t know (no promises). Here goes…

1. I have filled an entire Ikea bookcase with novels I’ve read

2. I hate driving

3. I’m 15 years older than my little sister

4. I’m obsessed with Bojangles biscuits (must be eaten with honey)

5. I had an appendetomy on my 26th birthday (emergency)

6. I can speak Haitian creole

7. I love video games, especially Harvest Moon (a virtual farm on Wii)

Hey, I never said this would be interesting. Now you know I’m a nerd and boring…if you judge please do so silently. 😉

Quick distraction: Shrimp…

Yum, sweet and succulent.

Perfectly light and healthy with tons of flavor.

Sweet and Spicy Shrimp Skewers

  • 1/2 lb to 3/4 lb shrimp (I used precooked 31/35)*
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 tbl water
  • 1 tbl Chinese five spice powder
  • 1  tsp sriracha sauce, or more to taste
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 inch piece of ginger, grated
  • sesame seeds

Turn the broiler to 400° and move your oven rack to the uppermost position. In a small bowl, combine honey, water, spice powder, salt, grated ginger and sriracha. Whisk the sauce until well combined. Thread your shrimp onto skewers and brush both sides with the sauce; sprinkle with toasted sesame seeds.

Lay the skewers on a foil lined baking sheet and put under the broiler. Cook for 2 or 3 minutes, depending on the size of your shrimp. Remove and rotate the skewers, brushing them with the remaining sauce.  Cook for another 2 or 3 minutes. Don’t overcook them, if they are pre-cooked you are basically just heating them through.

Serve with rice and edamame, or your vegetable of choice. Makes 4 skewers.

Enjoy!

*Note: The numbers are shrimp sizes, see here for a size chart of shrimp in the U.S.

– Erin 🙂

Daily Question: Ever had an awkward moment involving over-sharing? Don’t hide in shame, leave me a comment about it.

8 thoughts on “Sweet and Spicy Shrimp Skewers

  1. This looks delicious! I had an awkward moment involving a mattress salesperson. I was purchasing waterproof mattress covers for my toddler twins who were in the midst of potty training and the salesperson overshared details regarding why he loved that particular mattress cover. YIKES!

Tell me what you think! Leave a comment.

