Frozen Honey Cream

Oh my gosh I am SO EXCITED about this post.

I kinda have an obsession with making ice cream. I don’t know why, because while I like it, it’s not my favorite dessert.

I would much rather eat cake actually.  I sound snobby: let ME EAT CAKE!

Anyway, I think my interest in making ice cream comes from the fact it has endless flavor combinations and therefore allows me to indulge my creative side.

So when I came across this recipe on another blog, Made by Mike (very cool, check it out), I actually squeaked a little bit trying to contain my excitement as I was at work and rantings about ice cream are frowned upon there. 😉

This ice cream is so delicate, fluffy and silky, and the flavor!! Wildflower honey! Cream! YES!

Plus the best part (for me) is it doesn’t require an ice cream maker, just an electric mixer.

Sadly, I cannot buy an ice cream maker because our tiny kitchen apartment is already bursting at the seams! I think you’ve heard this complaint before so I’ll stop.

I followed the recipe exactly as it says for this first run so I can get a feel for it, and now that I’ve tasted sweet, sweet (literally) success, I am empowered like a mad scientist to make newer and awesomer flavor combos!! MMWHAHAH, I’m thinking peaches and cream is next.

Frozen Honey Cream

How beautiful is this wildflower honey?!

  • 1 3/4 cups cold heavy whipping cream
  • 2/3 cup wildflower  honey*
  • 4 large egg yolks

Put the bowl of your electric mixer in the freezer for 10 minutes (a cold bowl helps the whip cream form). Meanwhile, separate your eggs, reserving the yolks. Once the bowl has chilled, beat the heavy cream on high speed until stiff peaks form; transfer to a new bowl and refrigerate.

In a small saucepan, bring the honey to a low boil and cook for 2 minutes, whisking frequently. Meanwhile, beat the eggs yolks on high in your electric mixer until they are pale yellow.  While the mixer is running on high, slowly pour in the hot honey. Continue to mix on high speed until the egg and honey mixture has cooled to room temperature, about 5 minutes. The mixture will start to thicken and increase in size too.

Next, fold the chilled whip cream into the cooled yolk mixture. Spread into a 9×5 loaf pan (or similar size) and cover with plastic wrap. Freeze for at least 2 hours, or until the ice cream is firm and frozen through. I froze mine overnight, it probably depends on the freezer.

*Note: You can find raw wildflower honey at Whole Foods, it lends the ice cream a sweet floral flavor.

Enjoy!

– Erin

10 thoughts on “Frozen Honey Cream

  1. I LOVE ice cream, and have always wanted to try making ice cream – though I don’t want to buy an actual ice cream maker, so this excites me!!! I must try making some ice cream!

  2. Pingback: S’mores Ice Cream « Erin's DC Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Cinnamon Ice Cream « Erin's DC Kitchen

  4. Pingback: Lemon Cheesecake Ice Cream | Erin's DC Kitchen

Tell me what you think! Leave a comment.

