Blueberry Batter Pudding

Let the blueberry posts continue!

Blueberry Batter Pudding ~ Erin's DC Kitchen

Today’s recipe is from a cookbook by Nigel Slater called Ripe. My husband picked this up for me from the gift shop at Gettysburg. I don’t recall the story behind why it was carried in that bookstore, but I imagine it is because many of the recipes are somewhat ‘old timey’ in my opinion (fruit fools, slubs, puddings, old-fashioned cakes).

Ripe1

Not to sound like a walking advert for this cookbook, but I really enjoy it. There are some nice pictures which are mouthwatering to look at and there is a great array of recipes that are just fun to read. Yes, I’m a bit nerdy, and will read a cookbook like a novel.

The book is organized according to chapters by “fruit”. So, if you have a load of blueberries like I did, you can read the blueberry chapter and there is plenty of inspiration right there in one spot.

Alright, enough on that. Let’s move onto the pudding! This is not a Jell-O style pudding, it is a baked British pudding.

Blueberry Batter Pudding~ Erin's DC Kitchen

Once you’ve whipped up the incredibly easy batter, pour it over the blueberries, and they float to the top of the dish and help form the delicate golden crust you see. Hiding just underneath is a warm, quivering custard pudding.

Blueberry Batter Pudding~ Erin's DC Kitchen

I really loved this dessert, topped with some lightly sweetened and barely whipped cream. (I mean barely holding its shape so it gets a bit melty when it hits the warm pudding). Please, try it for yourself. I bet peaches would be lovely with it too.

Blueberry Batter Pudding

  • 4 eggs
  • scant 2/3 cup all purpose flour
  • heaping 1/3 cup superfine sugar (I put white sugar through a food processor)
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 cup 2% milk
  • 2 cups blueberries
  • confectioners sugar and whipped cream, to serve

Preheat oven to 400°. Grease an ovenproof 2 quart dish (about 10 in in diameter) with butter or shortening.  Pulse the eggs, flour, sugar, cream and milk together in a food processor. Pour the blueberries into the greased dish, then pour the whipped batter over the berries. Bake for about 40 minutes or until batter is golden, lightly risen and just barely set (firm to the touch, but a bit wobbly). Remove from oven and let cool slightly. Whip your cream, dust with confectioners sugar and serve warm.

Enjoy!

- Erin

*Note: I tweaked this slightly from Nigel’s recipe, this isn’t an exact reprint.

10 thoughts on “Blueberry Batter Pudding

  1. If the rest of the book is like this, I need to find a copy for myself. And, I too, read cookbooks and cooking magazines like novels.

    • I knew I couldn’t be the only one. And yes, the whole cookbooks is full of nice things like this pudding, I highly recommend it. The LA Times did a review of it too if you want more info.

  2. Pingback: Spiffed-Up Blueberry Muffins | Erin's DC Kitchen

  3. Hey there! Your instructions twice mentioned “whipped” with respect to the batter…and your using a food processor… How long am I supposed to whip? You don’t mention a consistency, and your not just stirring it all together, so I am a little lost on how far to go….

    • Hi Christine! Good questions, I should be more explicit in my directions. For the batter itself, I just pulsed it in the food processor until the ingredients were well combined, maybe 60 or 90 seconds max. The batter will be fairly thin and runny. Alternatively, you could just whisk the ingredients together in a bowl, as you would pancake batter. For the whipped cream, I probably pulsed that in the food processor for 2 or 3 minutes. Do it until the cream looks thick, like it is becoming whipped cream, but is still loose (peaks are not stiff as fully whipped cream). The length of time you do this probably depends on the strength of your food processor, mine is a bit wimpy so I have to go for 3 minutes or so. I hope that helps!

Tell me what you think! Leave a comment.

