Fresh Peach Pie

Peach pie is fresh, sweet and warm. Kinda reminds you of sunshine on a summer day. I think that’s what makes peach pie the official dessert of summer, in my book anyway.

This crust is so cute and a really easy way to make a homemade pie that much more special.  I used a mini cookie cutter to press out the flowers after I had rolled the dough. Then I arrayed the cut-outs around the pie and attached them with a whole egg wash.

Pre-Baked

How pretty is this?! :-)

The egg wash also gives the whole pie a slight shine and helps it turn GBD (golden brown delicious).  Look- I’m going to keep using that acronym so I suggest committing it to memory because I’m not going to always spell it out ;-).

The husband and I picked the peaches for this pie over the weekend. We spent a night at a bed and breakfast in Virginia wine country, went hiking in Sky Meadows park and then stopped by Hartland Farm on our way back to the city. It was a perfect way to spend time reconnecting after being apart for 3 months.

The farm was in the most beautiful countryside I’ve seen. There were soft rolling hills,  clear blue sky, and the Blue Ridge Mountains in the background. If you are ever in Virginia, I suggest you visit. I wish I had grabbed my camera from the car to capture the scenes, but alas…

While peaches are in peak season, make a pie. I promise, you won’t regret it.

Summer Peach Pie

  • 6 cups thinly slices peaches
  • 1/2 c sugar
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbl quick cooking tapioca or cornstarch (I suggest tapioca if you have it)
  • double pie crust

For egg wash

  • 1 egg
  • splash of half and half

Preheat the oven to 375°. Peel and thinly slice your peaches. In a large bowl, combine peaches with the sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla and tapioca or cornstarch and let stand for about 20 minutes.

Meanwhile, roll out your pie crusts. If you want, cut out some small shapes from the top crust, set aside. Once you have assembled the crust and filling in your pie plate, mix the egg and half and half together to form a wash. If you cut out shapes, dip them into the egg wash and then attach to the pie crust. Brush the top of the pie all over with the wash. Cover the edge of the crust with a pie protector to prevent overbrowning and bake for 25 minutes. Remove the protector and bake for another 25 or 30 minutes.

Enjoy!

- Erin

Daily Question: Do you have a favorite summer fruit pie? Do tell!

9 thoughts on “Fresh Peach Pie

    • Thanks :-) Looking for a way to use up peaches and tomatoes? Slice them both, arrange on a plate and drizzle with a balsamic reduction and sprinkle with goat cheese :-) I’m going to post about that this week!

  1. Hello! I am really enjoying your blog! I nominated you for the Liebster blog award. You can find out more about it on my blog.

    PS That pie looks amazing!

  2. Pingback: Inspirational Blogger Award «

Tell me what you think! Leave a comment.

