New York Weekend

Hi readers!

I just got back from a whirlwind weekend in NYC, whew.  Since I was out of town the past two days, I didn’t have any time to prepare something for our usual Meatless Monday post.  You can always scan the recipe index for something you may not have tried yet.

So, here are the highlights of my New York weekend.

1) MoMA

Loved this museum! It was my first visit. Being from DC where all the Smithsonian’s are free, I was a little taken aback by the $25 entrance fee- but it was well worth it.

I saw some of my favorite artists and found some new ones I liked too.  Here are a select few I really enjoyed:

Max Ernst: Two Children Threatened by a Nightingale
I love how this is 3-D, with the fence swinging out of the painting, very unusual.

Francis Picabia

Van Gough: The Olive Trees

Van Gough: The Starry Night
(my favorite painting of all time because it was the first piece that introduced me to the world of art back in 9th grade)

Seurat: The Channel at Gravelines, Evening
(note: this picture is not blurry, the painting is thousands of little points which make up a larger image)

2) Central Park

This is the most beautiful ‘planned’ park I have had the pleasure of strolling through.  Hyde Park would be a close second.  The park is lush, the people watching is amazing and the gentle rolling ‘hills’ and large rocks make you forget you are in the city at all. I was to busy enjoying the views to take my own pictures, but here is one of the Boathouse I found online.

I really enjoyed watching the rowers! Some were more successful than others.

3) Peels Restaurant

I first learned about this restaurant on the Food Network. It was featured on the show Unique Eats because of the pastry chef’s amazing desserts and use of unusual ingredients. We ate brunch here, and had plenty of desserts too: monkey bread with mascarpone frosting, ginger cookies and double chocolate chip cookies.

But the absolute highlight of the meal was the buttermilk biscuit. Hands down *literally* the best biscuit I have had in my life to date.  Ya, biscuits can be that good, life-changing good. Screw 50 Shades of Grey, give me a Peels biscuit.

Build-a-Biscuit Breakfast Sandwich: scrambled eggs, hickory bacon, avocado

Cheddar and Jalapeno Grits

Spring Benedict: Poached eggs over biscuits with farm fresh asparagus

Overall, a very successful and fun weekend. Although I am happy to be back home and sleeping in my own bed. :-) I’ll be dreaming of those biscuits…

- Erin

Daily Question: Do you have a favorite NYC spot? (Food-related or otherwise)

Leave me a comment, I’m gathering ideas for my next trip up there!

3 thoughts on “New York Weekend

  1. Pingback: Rainbow Cookies « Erin's DC Kitchen

Tell me what you think! Leave a comment.

