Pasta ‘Carbonara’

Hello my dear readers.

We are going “Italian” for today’s Meatless Monday recipe.

Why the quotations? I know, I know… quotations in posts can be as annoying and pretentious as air quotes, but I’m trying to stave off a barrage of angry emails pointing out that this recipe isn’t truly a carbonara.

Hahaha, just kidding, I don’t ever get angry emails from my readers. Err, or any emails really.

But I digress. Carbonara, is a pasta dish made with eggs, cheese and pancetta.

My take on the dish is just as creamy, rich and flavorful as the traditional recipe, but has the added benefit of being speedy, simple and oh-so-satisfying.

Sub out the pancetta (I am so sorry pork, you know I love you) for fresh broccoli…

Tossed with fresh ground pepper and grated Parmesan cheese

and add a fried egg on top….

Mmm, the creaminess of the yolk acts like a warm sauce for the pasta

and you’ve got the perfect Meatless Monday dinner!

Finish the dish with crunchy breadcrumbs

 

Pasta ‘Carbonara’ 

  • About 4 ounces angel hair pasta
  • 1 small broccoli crown, sliced
  • 1 egg (or 2 if you are sharing)*
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup pasta cooking liquid, reserved
  • 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 2-3 pinches of Panko breadcrumbs

Slice off the tops of the broccoli into bite size pieces, boil or steam until tender-crisp, then set aside in a medium bowl.  Meanwhile, prepare the angel hair pasta according to package instructions; reserve 1/4 cup of the cooking liquid before draining.

Drain pasta well, then add to bowl with broccoli. Toss in the grated cheese, salt and pepper and the reserved cooking liquid. Toss to coat.

Now fry your egg. Do not  overcook the yolk, you want it to be runny to act as a sauce for the pasta. When finished, about 3 minutes, set on top of plated pasta. Break yolk, top with a couple pinches of breadcrumbs.

Enjoy!

*Note: This dish probably serves two, however I was super hungry and ate the whole thing myself. So if you plan on sharing, you need a second egg.
Daily Question: Is there a meatless recipe you would like to see me cook for next time?

Leave me a comment below with your ideas!

- Erin :-)

Tell me what you think! Leave a comment.

