Hawaiian Chicken Sandwiches

So I’ve been a little melancholy since I came back from visting my family in Michigan this past weekend.

It is hard to go from a house bustling with 6 people who are all interested in talking to me, playing Bananagrams with me or just hanging out with me to a one bedroom apartment where I’m flying solo.

This happens to me frequently after I visit with them, so I wasn’t surprised; but it doesn’t make it any easier. :-(

I didn’t really want to post the recipes that my Mom and I made together over the weekend because it was bumming me out, but then I looked through the pictures I took and it made me smile a bit. Plus the sandwich was really good.

Family meals were a HUGE part of my life growing up. For me, food is nostalgic. A sometimes bittersweet, but always happy and tasty memory.

On that note, please bust out the grill and get going on these chicken sandwiches. The marinade on the chicken carmelizes when it’s on the grill so it tastes sweet and smoky.

Melt a slice of provolone cheese on top and finish of with a slice of pineapple.

I’m a sucker for sweet and salty combos, so this chicken sandwich was perfect!

Hawaiian Chicken Sandwiches

  • 1/2 cup apple juice
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • 2/3 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup vinegar
  • 2/3 cup canola oil
  • 8 skinless boneless chicken breasts
  • 8 slices fresh or canned pineapple
  • 8 slices provolone cheese
  • sesame seed buns
  • toppings of your choice (tomato, mayo, lettuce, etc)

For the marinade: combine the first seven ingredients together in a very large ziploc bag. Add in the chicken breasts, seal, and refrigerate for at least 2 hours- although you may choose to go longer. Turn the bag a couple times while it marinates so each side is coated well.

Cook on the grill over medium heat for about 20 minutes (depending on thickness of breasts), turning halfway through. In the last two minutes, melt provolone cheese onto the chicken breasts. Top with pineapple slices and other topping, serve and enjoy!

Recipe from my Mom

- Erin

Daily Question: Do you still get homesick? (I cannot be the only one out there!)

2 thoughts on “Hawaiian Chicken Sandwiches

Tell me what you think! Leave a comment.

