Strawberry Lemonade Bars

Summer is sooo close I can almost taste it.

Yup, and it tastes as awesome as these bars look!

Topped with creamy, lemony cream cheese frosting

Drooling is ok

Summer has a LOT to contend with!

While we all wait for summer to officially make an entrance, there is Mother’s Day to consider.

My mom loves fresh fruit desserts so I think these would be a perfect addition to our family’s Mother’s Day meal. To bad I live too far away to actually share these with my mom :-( , but my co-workers were pretty happy when I brought them in!

Just in time for Mother’s Day:

Strawberry Lemonade Bars

  • 1 box pink lemonade cookie mix 
  • 8 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 3 tbl butter, softened
  • zest of half a lemon
  • 2 cups powder sugar
  • strawberry jam
  • 1/2 quart strawberries, sliced

Preheat oven to 350°. Prepare cookie mix according to package directions. Spread the cookie dough into a well greased 8×8 pan*. Bake for 25 minutes, let cool. Meanwhile, using an electric mixture with the whisk attachment, whip the cream cheese, butter and lemon zest until fluffy, about 2 minutes on high. Slowly whip in the powder sugar until combined and smooth.  Once the cookie is cool, spread a layer of strawberry jam on top. Then spread on the cream cheese mixture. Cut into 16 bars. Top the bars with strawberries. Store in refrigerator until ready to serve.

Enjoy!

Daily Question: Are you a chocolate or fruit dessert person? I say it depends on the season, but usually chocolate. :-)

- Erin

*Note: I suspect a 9×13 pan would work, albet produce a thinner bar, but these were pretty thick as is.