Chocolate-Toffee Cake Batter Cookies

Sometimes, you just want need a cookie or two.  A big, chewy and chocolaty cookie.

Warm chocolate + Crunchy toffee= Heaven

I understand, I’m here for you. I have a cookie recipe for you…come follow me, read on:

Recently a fellow coworker [and reader of my blog :-) Hi] was chatting with me about making cookies out of boxed cake mix.  Making a cake from a box mix was somewhat of an aberration in my house growing up, so I wasn’t very familiar with this idea but I was intrigued. Could this satisfy my cookie craving?

It could, and it was awesome.

Aside from tasting like a chocolate cookie party in your mouth, this recipe is really easy and it makes a baker’s dozen. That means you can eat one cookie warm, straight out of the oven, and still have a dozen cookies left!  No one will be the wiser!  But try and eat just one, it’ll be hard ;-)

Cake Batter Cookies (approx 13 cookies)

  • 1 1/2 cup dark chocolate cake mix*
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup toffee bits (I used Heath Bits ’0′-Brickle)


Heat oven to 350°. In a medium bowl, mix together the cake mix and baking soda. Then add the egg, vegetable oil and toffee bits. Stir until combined, the dough will be pretty thick. You can alternate stirring and smushing the dough with the spatula to incorporate the toffee bits if needed.

Scoop up the dough one tablespoon at a time and roll into balls just over 1 inch wide.

Place on lined cookie sheet and bake for 10-12 minutes. Slightly cool the cookies on the sheet before moving them to a cooling rack.

To bad we don’t have smell-o-vision, because this just baked cookie scent is amazing

Enjoy!

*Note: This is half of a 16.5 ounce box of cake mix. You can save the other half in an airtight container to use at a later date (I have another recipe coming!). You could try doubling this recipe, but I haven’t tried that and cannot vouch for it.

Daily Question: Do you have any novel uses for boxed cookie or cake mix?

- Erin :-)