Back to the Garden Part 1

Helloooo Monday.

If you are anywhere near DC today, be prepared for rain, cold, wind and overall misery when it comes to weather.

What happened to the 75° and sunshine I got to enjoy on Saturday?! Where are you summer?

Actually, it is probably a good thing summer isn’t in full swing because I have procrastinated on preparing my garden. After running into my plot-neighbor on the bus and being politely admonished over the astonishing number of weeds, I decided it was time to see what was going on over there.

 

It’s bad.

 

Like this bad:

It’s ok to recoil in horror. It’s ugly, I know.

Fast forward two hours later and the beds were looking awesome!

I even planted some rainbow chard while I was there, which I’m very excited about. Rainbow chard is beautiful and a versatile ingredient (hint: recipes to come :-)

Ok, so I know a lot of work remains, but I’m pleased with the progress made. Besides, being outside and getting my hands dirty has re-infected me with the gardening bug. I’m already looking forward to the next sunny day and putting in some radishes and carrots. Progress will be made!!

Cheers-

Erin